The NYX Launch

So today my local Boots (U.K drugstore) launched a ‘NYX’ counter and I have never been so excited! As a U.K purchaser the only way I could purchase Nyx products, to my knowledge, was online through websites such as feelunique.com so when I heard they were bring Nyx in store I was, for lack of a better word, buzzing. Although I love online shopping I prefer shopping in store when it comes to make up because there’s nothing better than physically trying and testing the product in real life!

IMG_0702

Boots had a huge selection of Nyx products so inevitably I grabbed a basket and began to browse…

Liquid Lipstick

Firstly, I was most excited for the Nyx’s liquid lipsticks from the ‘Lip Lingerie’ collection after seeing the hype across social media. I was hesitant to order them online as I was unsure what shades would suit me but when I went in store today I found 2 shades which I was instantly drawn towards.

The first shade I picked up was ‘Honeymoon’ which is a gorgeous brown-y mauve shade. It comes in standard lipgloss-like packaging but still looks chic and is affordable at £6.50. When you first swatch the product it glides on due to the creamy texture but dries completely matte which I love!

Honeymoon (01):

IMG_0730

IMG_0768

I swatched ‘Honeymoon’ (01) on the back of my hand and found it to be creamy and very pigmented just from one swipe!

The second shade I picked up was ‘Beauty Mark'(05) which is, again, reasonably priced at £6.50 and I would describe this as a brown with a hint of purple as it can look different in different lighting. The texture is exactly the same as ‘Honeymoon’ in the sense that it’s creamy upon application but dries matte.

Beauty Mark (05):

IMG_0761

In natural lighting ‘Beautymark’ seems to appear brown once dry. It’s also worth noting that once dried both liquid lipsticks did not smudge when I ran my finger over the product suggesting that they’re long lasting which is a bonus!

Concealer

Next, I picked up the Nyx concealer palette. Now, anyone who knows me knows that I live for a good concealer. Me being the eye-bag queen means I’m always on the hunt for a new concealer so when I spotted this I knew it had to go into my basket.

I had seen this palette on feelunique.com but whenever I went to purchase it was always out of stock so when I saw it instore I grabbed it. The lovely lady at the Nyx counter helped me choose the palette which we thought would best suit me so I ended up buying shade medium.

IMG_0716.JPG

Just by looking at the palette I got instant ‘MAC Pro Conceal’ vibes however the Nyx palette is a fraction of the price retailing at £10 compared to the £35 MAC palette.

There are 6 shades within the palette which can be used for a variety of purposes including correcting, concealing and contouring which means it would be a great palette for someone who travels a lot!

IMG_0722

I did one swatch of each shade and found the texture to be, both, creamy and bendable which is great for the price!

These swatches are going across from left to right:

IMG_0777

 

Foundation 

Next, I picked up the Nyx ‘stay matte but not flat’ foundation. This was an impulse buy as I wasn’t really looking to buy a new foundation however when I swatched the product I couldn’t not buy it! Firstly, I was pleasantly surprised by the wide variety of shades they had to offer as being a girl of deeper skin tones means it can be difficult to find high street make up that matches my skin tone. When I tested the product I was amazed at how easily the foundation blended and the fact it matched my skin and felt weightless lead to an immediate purchase.

The foundation is said to be water based, oil free and is supposed to leave the skin with a matte finish. One thing I found when I tested the product was that a little goes a long way which is great as it means you use less product. The foundation was also a steal at £7.00!!! I cannot wait to test it properly so I can offer a full review but as of now I’m thrilled with this purchase!

I picked up the shade ‘Cinnamon Spice’:

IMG_0785

Setting Spray

My final purchase was the Nyx ‘Matte Finish’ setting spray. I’d seen this product floating around online but had never really thought about purchasing it. I picked this up as my MAC fix+ is about to run out and thought this could be a cheaper alternative as it’s only £7.00 in comparison to fix+ which is £17.00!

Initially I thought the bottle was quite small for the price you pay but I thought I’d still give it a go. To my knowledge, Nyx offers two setting sprays: one in a matte finish and one in a a dewy finish. Obviously I opted for matte as the weather in the U.K is getting warmer which can mean make up doesn’t wear as long and also because I’m an oily gal, haha!

IMG_0724

So, this concludes my Nyx Haul and I have to say I’m thrilled with my purchases and cannot wait to test them out. Let me know if you’d like any reviews on any of the products mentioned and feel free to leave your comments!

See you soon,

Navjot

 

Leave a Reply

